0 itemitems, $0.00

1-COVER-When Christ Was Born-COVER-GLOVER-CROP for WebWhen Christ Was Born celebrates the birth of the Christ Child in a 21-minute choral setting of eight (8) early Christmas carol texts scored for mixed chorus, soprano and baritone soloists and harp accompaniment. Of the work, McCullough explains:  “The bulk of the work’s texts come from 15th and 16th century England, a time when the texts of Christmas carols were more poetic and less literal, exhibiting a charm and quaintness that I find hard to resist.  I wanted the music to not only reference the text’s late Middle Ages origins but also sound fresh when heard by today’s and tomorrow’s audiences.”

1.  Whereas Adam Caused by Sin
2.  Sun of Righteousness
3.  The Flow’r of Jesse  available separately McMP104-1
4.  So Blessed a Sight
5.  When Christ Was Born
6.  Carol of the Birds
7.  It Was Thy Day, Sweet!
8. Wonder Tidings

Commissioned by Brian and Marian Rian Hays in loving memory of their son, Cameron Rian Hays.

Audio samples are from the world premiere performance by the Washington Master Chorale; Thomas Colohan, conductor; Marian Rian Hays, harpist; Richard Giarusso, baritone; Rachel Carlson, soprano

Voicing: SSAATTBB; solos soprano and baritone
Accompaniment: Harp or Piano (separate harp part required)
Texts: Mostly 15th & 16th century English carol texts
Duration: 21 minutes, 30 seconds
Difficulty: Medium

Tags: , , , , ,


Page 29, mea. 59, soprano part (not an erratum, but a clarification):
Printed “f’s” are F-flats as indicated in the key signature even though the tenor part contains an F-natural.

Harp or Piano Accompaniment

When Christ Was Born can be performed with piano accompaniment using the Choral/Piano score.

When performing with harp accompaniment, the conductor uses the Choral/Piano Score, but a separate harp part is required for the harpist. (Note: There are only slight variations between the piano and harp accompaniments, mostly related to harp glissandi.)

User Submitted Reviews

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Know! Get the latest releases, blogs, and rehearsal tips right in your inbox

Your email address will never be shared